Aston Martin Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Boxer,

I have been reading up on both cars lately and actually pulled out stacks of my old car mags with articles on DB7's and XK8's to compare.

If the articles are correct, both were based on the existing Jaguar XJS platform, which is hardly something to crow about. As to engines, I can't see how the blocks could have been shared or even related - the Jag had a 4.0l V8 from its introduction and the DB7 had an I6 with a supercharger. Maybe the DB7 shared engine architecture with the Jag XJ6 that was its contemporary in the early 90's.

In any case, most enthusiasts would argue that regardless of their common heritage, anything other than an Aston is just not cricket.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Boxer,

I hope that is what this forum will provide - an opportunity for all of us to get our questions answered. I'm by no means an expert, but have recently been researching Virages and early DB7's.

I hope I can be of help in the future as well. This is a great to have a place to share info.

Brent

·
Registered
9 Posts
Hi,

The DB7 6 cyl (1994-1999) is build on a XJS platform, sharing front and rear suspension witch is modified.under the dasboard you see an XJS and the engine is a AJ6 3.2 from jaguar with different pistons (Cossworth, oil cooled) and a compressor on it giving it 340 Bhp instead of 202 in the Jaguar.
The DB7 V12 is still the XJS platform but with a complete new build V12 Cossworth engine with no Jaguar parts on it.
The 6 cyl makes it the most easy (???:)) AM to have at the lowest (????) cost ever.
A very good website is www.astonmartins.com

·
Registered
108 Posts
Then you have the GT model - DB7 GT

Revised everything, steering layout, suspension, gearing, gearbox, rear diff, engine power and torque, brakes, wheels, seats and aerodynamics + a few extra little details.

Basically the GT is what the DB7 SHOULD have been from day one and then improved upon.